Projects

Here are some projects that I’ve been working on lately:

I updated Pete’s Father’s Day mug and even had it ready on time!

1-father's day mug

I finally finished writing custom Thank You notes (with pictures of the babies wearing/using the gift) as well as Birthday Party Thank You notes (made through Shutterfly: http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=8IcNGbVszasg6)

homemade TY cardsTY cards

Gardening!!  Closest box: Tatsoi, Hon Tsai Tai, Red Choi, Kale, and Chard

Middle box: Onions, Leeks, Beets, and Chard

Furthest box: 2 types of squash, nasturtium, radishes, and 2 types of green beans

Small box of lettuce, bibb lettuce, and scallions.  Asian squash on either side of the trellis

Large patch of soil by the far end of the fence: peppers, basil, carrots, scallions, onions, shallots, 3rd type of squash, radishes, nasturtium, cucumbers, amaranth, rosemary, and parsley.

1-garden

Tomatoes, garlic, and onions by the brown fence, and corn alternating with snap peas by the white fence (I couldn’t find my small aluminum tins, so I wrapped tupperware lids in foil and hung them around the peas to keep the rabbits away.  so far, so good…)

2-garden

Compost bin, 2 more types of Asian squash that will grow up the bamboo stakes like last year, and 2 boxes of herbs on the deck.  Oh, and two kids playing on the deck in the playpen!

3-garden

I discovered the yellow thing had 4 small holes in the bottom, probably so it wouldn’t be a drowning hazard.  The boat, “not to be used for flotation,” holds water for splashing.  They played patiently in it until I had blown up the kiddie pool (with my lungs), which requires far more air than it seems!

4-water boat5-wading pool

Water table I borrowed from a friend, and the yellow table with taped-up holes!

6-water table

I finished my blanket and was concerned that it was a lot smaller than the first one.  Blocking it didn’t stretch it out enough because I crocheted the border on too tightly.  So I unraveled the border and blocked it to the proper size (first time blocking!!)

7-blocking blanket

We put together squares that everyone from small group knit for Annie’s baby:

8-knitting annie's

I tucked in loose ends and blocked it in Vermont:

9-blocking annie

And put borders on both–voila!!  (yes, I used flash and yes, they stayed asleep, and no, they don’t sleep with blankets yet–it was just for the picture.  crazy mom!)

borders

2 thoughts on “Projects

    • i won’t lie…i was pretty nervous about all the different sized squares for Annie’s blanket, but i think it turned out great! now that it’s all dried out and unpinned, everything is not perfectly square as it was in the picture. but still, i consider it a success!! as for my blanket, it is still smaller than the matching one and i’m debating unraveling the border and doing it again, but pete may be able to talk me out of it! =P

Leave a Reply

